What happens if I clear data on facebook app

Question: what happens if I clear data on facebook app?

I’ve seen lots of Facebook users ask this very question especially among the new users. I’ve got the right answer for you.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app

First I would like to you to know that this very answer is applicable to all application on android phones, and also on iPhone.

When a user clear data on any application installed on the Android phone, it simply reset the app to a new one.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app?

All the information, login, history, chats, etc will be removed from the application. In terms of social apps like Facebook, you’ll still have to login to get things back to where it was.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app?

The Facebook application won’t be deleted on your android smartphone, but what happens is that all saved data will be removed.

When I say saved data, that is all the saved username and password, or all the logins on the Facebook app will be removed or wiped out.

You’ll only have to login to Facebook app using your username and password.

Kindly note that your account will still remain intact, which includes all your Facebook updates, uploads, friends, comments, shares, pages and groups etc.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app?

Your Facebook app update won’t be removed or revert back to the old version, you’ll still have the latest version installed on your android phone or iPhone.

Again let me repeat this, you’ll not lose your Facebook informations, friends or details etc. You’ll only need to login to the Facebook app again.

Bet I’ve answered your question on what happens if I clear data on facebook app.

How to clear data on facebook app

In case you want to clear data on the Facebook app installed on your android smartphone, kindly follow this procedure.

First go to the settings app on your android phone, this is followed by scrolling down to where it states apps (depending on your phone).

When you click on the apps, scroll and locate the facebook app and tap on it.

If your phone is running the latest Android 10 software, it will look like the picture below.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app

Simply tap on storage and if you look below you’ll see where it states clear data and clear cache.

If you tap on clear data, it will immediately clear saved data or informations which includes logins on the Facebook app installed on your android phone.

It will only require you to login again on the Facebook app using your Facebook details or information.

Like I said earlier, this isn’t applicable to what happens if I clear data on facebook app, but also other apps.

For example, whatsapp, Instagram and Twitter app installed on your android smartphone.

Let me use whatsapp for example.

What happens if I clear data on whatsapp app

Just like the facebook app, you won’t lose your whatsapp details or login.

This only requires you to login to your whatsapp app using your mobile number, and again you’ll have to verify your number.

Next is to type in the username you want to use for your whatsapp just like you’re starting a fresh or all over again.

And you’re good to go.

But before you go ahead to clear data on the whatsapp app installed on your android phone, you must backup your chats else everything will be wiped out.

This is quite different from facebook, so you’ll need to backup your whatsapp chats before clearing data on your whatsapp application.

Note: If you have contacts which you blocked on your whatsapp, the contact(s) will still be blocked after clearing data on your whatsapp app.

As long as you backed up up your whatsapp chats and details, after restoration you’ll be get all your chats, groups, etc back.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app.

This is also applicable to Facebook messenger app. Your chats won’t be deleted or wiped out, but you might lose any customization made to the Facebook messenger app.

Aside from what happens if I clear data on facebook app, browser app is quite different.

(What happens if I clear data on facebook app)

What happens if I clear data on browser app like Chrome

Clearing data on browser applications is quite different from social apps, you’ll lose all your bookmarks and history.

Honestly, if you clear data on browser like Chrome or Opera, all the bookmarks, passwords, history etc will be wiped out.

The browser will be like when you downloaded and installed it for the very first time.

So clearing data on any browser installed on your android phone automatically wiped out all your browsing history, bookmarks, passwords and saved files etc.

Still on What happens if I clear data on facebook app, now moving onto contact and message apps.

What happens if I clear data on contact and message app

I know that this is very essential and which you would want to know what happens afterwards.

Just for the sake of experiment and to see what happens, I cleared data on my contact or phone app on my android phone, and lo and behold nothing really happened.

And i mean all calls, and saved contacts were intact. Absolutely nothing was deleted or wiped out, just only the customization made on the contact app was removed.

The customization that was removed are the pictures I attached to the each contacts and wallpaper added on the contact app.

This is also applicable to message app.

After clearing data on the message app installed on my android phone, I was surprised to see that all messages were intact, just some mms and pics were missing.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app.

Clearing data on android apps is quite different from clearing cache on android apps. On clearing cache on apps, all the information, details, logins and password will still be on the apps.

For example, in the case of Facebook app.

Nothing will be removed or wiped out, but when opening the facebook app after clearing the cache, you’ll have to login in again.

However, the login information or username and password is will still be saved on the Facebook app.

Again, clearing data on android games is quite different from Facebook app.

You’ll definitely lose all the saved game files or levels you’re in the game, the username you created, and in fact you’ll have to start afresh.

You’ll have to start all over again from the first level in the game.

However, you won’t lose any updates made the game at all.

But at times, I usually tried to understand why one would want to clear data on any apps on it’s Android phone.

The answe I do get is because of the application is lagging or hanging, and the user can’t seem to stand it anymore, the only solution is to clear data.

Honestly it helps I must say, but you should be rest assured that you’ll be starting the application all over again.

Like you installed it fit the very first time.

Aside from ehat happens if I clear data on facebook app, let’s move onto to Google play services and Google play store.

When you clear data on play store or Google play services which I don’t really recommend at all, all the gmail account saved on your android phone will be removed.

You know that you can’t use your android phone without the Google play services, and also can’t use the Google play services without a gmail account.

So it requires you to start all over again to add your gmail account to the Google play services on your android phone.

Again i don’t recommend you to clear data or uninstall updates on the Google play services. Doing such on the Google play store will require you to download and install latest play store for your android phone.

Mind you, it is done automatically.

So before you can go ahead to clear data on any application installed on your android smartphone, be rest assured that you’re taking the application back to it’s original state.

That is as you installed it on your android phone for the very first time.

This won’t reset your account information, but you’ll have to login again if it is social app like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest.

For browser applications, you’ll loose all your browsing history, bookmarks, saved pages, logins etc.

Again i don’t recommend to clear data on Google play services. You can do that with Google play store, unless you want to start your android phone afresh.

What happens if I clear data on facebook app.

Don’t miss:

That’s all I’ve for you on this question of what happens if I clear data on facebook app and other Android applications. Don’t forget to use the share buttons to share this post.

Leave a Comment