What happens when you call someone who blocked you? Answered
Last Updated on June 3, 2022 by Kennedy
As we all know when blocked by a recipient or someone, it is very impossible to contact the person through calls or text messages.
However, out of curiosity you may want to know what happens when you call someone who blocked you and to see if the person will be notified about it or probably not.
I ran a test using both my android phone and my iPhone, blocked my numbers on each of the phones to see what actually will happen if I call my phones and this is what happens.
What happens when you call someone who blocked you?
When you call someone who blocked you, the call will be redirected straight to voicemail or show line busy if the recipient has no voicemail. In some cases like on android phone, the phone may ring just once before it goes to voicemail or end immediately.
What I did to come up with this answer is to block my two phone numbers on each of my smartphone, and at one point I deactivated my phone voicemail just t see what will happen.
So here it is based on android phone (Samsung Galaxy phone ) and the iPhone.
On Android phone
If you call a phone number that blocked you on it’s android phone, the call will redirect straight to voicemail if applicable. So you can drop off a voicemail go the recipient and he or she will see your voicemail afterwards.
On my samsung phone, I noticed that when you block someone on samsung phone, and the person calls your phone number, it will ring just once before it redirect the person to voicemail. Though sometimes it won’t ring but redirect the blocked person to voicemail.
On the other hand if the recipient has no active voicemail on it’s android phone, the phone may tends to ring once before it shows line busy or user busy.
At first you may think that the recipient is on another call but that isn’t the case because if someone is another call it will show call waiting on your cellphone. As it shows call waiting on your cell phone it will show incoming call on the recipient side.
So whenever you call someone using an android phone or probably a samsung phone and it shows line busy, kindly note that the person is not on another call or busy but rather the person has blocked your phone number on it’s android phone.
What happens when you call someone who blocked you on iPhone
On iPhone, the call will be redirect to voicemail if applicable or show line busy which the call will end immediately.
On iPhone, the phone won’t ring for once or twice as it will immediately redirect your call to voicemail but only if the recipient has a voicemail enabled on it’s phone.
In a situation whereby the recipient has no active voicemail on it’s phone, the call will show line busy and end immediately. It is very similar to samsung phones with the only difference being that samsung phones may tends to ring before sending the person to voicemail or showing user busy.
Asking what happens when you call someone who blocked you, kindly note that you will be redirected straight to voicemail if applicable or the call will show line busy and ends immediately.
Will the recipient see your missed calls?
The simple answer is yes buy only if you leave a voicenote or voicemail for the recipient.
On iPhone, if someone you blocked happens to call your number it won’t go through but will redirect the caller straight to voicemail. Now if the caller decides to leave a voicemail for you, you will receive it on your iPhone irrespective of the fact that you blocked the person on your iPhone.
Let me give you a step by step on how this works.
BLOCKING SOMEONE ON YOUR IPHONE
To block someone on your iPhone simply open the contact app, locate the phone app and locate the last call you had with the contact on your iPhone.
Tap on the i icon to open the contact information or details.
As the contact information opens up, scroll down to the bottom and you will see where it states Block this Caller.
Go ahead and block the caller on your iPhone.
Now to see if the caller tried to contact you on your iPhone, open the phone app and tap on the voicemail window. Scroll down to the voicemail window and tap on blocked messages and right there you will see blocked numbers that dropped off their voicemail for you.
However, if the caller didn’t drop any voicemail then you won’t be able to see if the blocked caller tried to contact you.
You can easily find out if someone you blocked tried to contact you on your android phone and Samsung phone.
To see a missed call from a blocked number on your samsung phone, simply open the phone app and you will see the phone which has a blocked icon beside the contact name or number.
Beloe is a typical example of what I’m talking about.
If you see such on your samsung phone it literally means a blocked contact on your samsung phone tried to contact you. This is also applicable to any other android phones as you can easily see if a blocked contact tried to contact you compared to how it works on iphone.
What happens when you block a number on verizon?
When you block a contact on verizon network, automatically the person won’t be able to contact you through calls or text messages.
However, blocking of someone do occur in cellphones and not the cellular network. You can only block someone on your mobile phone and not the network itself. This is the reason why a blocked number can easily hide his or her number to contact you if you blocked the person.
What happens when you call someone who blocked you on whatsapp?
If you call someone who blocked you on whatsapp, the call will not go through as it will continue to ring but wont get to the recipient phone.
Dont bother trying to call someone that blocked you on whatsapp as it won’t go through and the person won’t be notified about it or saw a missed call from the blocked number. From what I have seen, it will continue to ring until you get tired and decides to end the call.
What happens when your number is blacklisted
If your number is blacklisted then it simply means you won’t be able to make or receive calls, send or receive text messages on the number.
A blacklisted sim card is same thing with the sim card being disconnected by the network service provider. And if this happens it literally means the sim card is no longer of no use and should be disposed for a new SIM card.
When a sim card is blacklisted, you can’t get it back to work other than getting a new SIM card for your mobile phone.
Also when a sim card is blacklisted you can’t perform a sim card which involves swapping or switching all contents in the old sim card to the new sim card including the old sim card phone number. But all in all, when a sim card is blacklisted it simply means you won’t be able to make or receive calls, send or receive text messages on the number.
How to call someone who has blocked you?
To call someone who has blocked you, simply hide your caller id to call the person.
Now let me show you a step by step guide on how to call someone who blocked you on it’s cell phone and this is both applicable to android phone and iPhone.
Let’s proceed to that.
To call someone who blocked you on android, get started by opening the phone app on your android phone.
Tap on the hamburger menu option and you will see settings just like on the picture below.
As the settings opens, look closely and you will see supplementary services (on Samsung phones), please go ahead and open the supplementary services.
On the next screen, the first option you will see is called Show Caller ID and you will have to open it as well. So go ahead and open the Show caller ID.
As you opened Show Caller ID you will be presented with three options and which are;
- Network Default
- Hide Number
- Show Number
By default it will be on show number so you should please select hide number and exit the app.
Once you have done that, go ahead and call the person that blocked your number and you will see the call will go through to the recipient phone.
However, if the recipient is not the type that answers unknown callers I’m sorry your call won’t be answered by the recipient. But you can persist to see if the recipient will answer your call.
How to call someone who has blocked you on iPhone
To call someone who has blocked you on iPhone you simply have to hide your caller ID on your iPhone to call the person.
To get started, open the settings app on your iPhone, scroll down phone and open it.
Right there you will see where it states Show my Caller ID, go ahead and open it
Once you open Show My Caller ID on your iPhone, you will see that it is enabled by default so you go ahead and disable it. When you disable it on your iPhone it will be grey in color and not green.
After that you can go ahead and call anyone that blocked your number.
What happens when you call someone who blocked you? When you call someone who blocked you, the call will be redirected straight to voicemail or show line busy if the recipient has no voicemail.