If i unblock someone on imessage what happens? Answered
Last Updated on October 18, 2022 by Kennedy
When someone is blocked on iMessage, text messages and location sharing will no longer be available to the blocked contact.
Text messages from the blocked number will be blocked, but the question being asked is if i unblock someone on imessage what happens.
Will I still be able to receive the blocked text messages or probably not.
This I will explain in this why as what follows when you unblock someone on your iPhone or iMessage.
If i unblock someone on imessage what happens?
If you unblock someone on iMessage, blocked texts messages will never get resend to your phone but susequent texts from the contact will be delivered to your phone.
When you unblock someone on your imessage, the person will now be able to start sending text messages to your phone, and you and the person can start sharing location with each other on iMessage.
By default, if you block someone on imessage and you are sharing location with the contact, immediately you tap on block this caller button, iMessage location sharing will stop automatically.
However, when you unblock the person on your iPhone, you can start sharing location with the person and location sharing will be available to you and to the other person on iMessage and iPhone in general.
In terms of text messages, when you block someone on imessage, text messages will be blocked and if you go ahead to unblock the person on your imessage, you won’t be able to receive those blocked text messages.
The only solution for you you is to request from the person or contact to resend all the blocked text messages to your imessage or iPhone.
Blocking someone on iMessage
When it comes to blocking someone on imessage, this will also affect the SMS text Messages, cellular phone calls and facetime calls as well.
When you block someone on imessage, you can send text messages to the person but the person will never be able to send text messages to you until you unblock the person on your iMessage.
Also, the person will not be able to call you on facetime, cellular calls and will not be able to send SMS text messages to your phone.
Also note that when you block someone on imessage and the person is sharing his location with with you, you can view and check the person’s current location on imessage but the person will never be able to see your location as long as you blocked the person on your iPhone or imessage.
- Does imessage turn green when blocked? Answered
- What does it mean when imessage doesn’t say delivered? Explained
How to unblock someone on iMessage
To unblock someone on your iPhone, open the messages app and locate the person’s contact or conversation in your iPhone.
Tap on the person’s name and tap on info, this will open the person’s profile.
Kindly look below and you will see where it says unblock this caller, go ahead and tap on the unblock this caller button and by doing so you have unblocked the person on your iPhone.
This means that you can now receive text messages from the person, calls from cellular network service and facetime, also, location sharing will be available to you and to the other person.
Can you see your blocked messages on iMessage?
The answer is no. You cannot see blocked text messages on iPhone because it will never get delivered to the recipient.
On iPhone, there are no provisions to see blocked text messages as it will be blocked once the blocked person tries to send text messages to your iPhone.
This makes it quite impossible to know if a blocked number tried sending text messages to your phone number.
In terms of calls, if the person leaves a voicemail on your iPhone then you will know that the person or the blocked number tried contacting you using cellular calls or the normal phone call.
However, this is only available on cellular calls and not applied to facetime calls.
So you cannot see if someone or probably a blocked contact tried to contact you on iPhone on facetime calls except for cellular calls, and for sms text messages and iMessages, that is not possible at all.
Do blocked messages say delivered?
Blocked messages will never say delivered as it will never get sent or delivered to the recipient phone.
On iMessage, once you’re blocked by the recipient, the sent text message will never show delivered which indicates that the recipient has received the sent text message and this is also applied to android phones as there won’t be any delivery reports about the sent text message.
For a text message to show delivered, it simply means the recipient received the sent texmessage on his phone and even if the recipient’s phone is switched off and not that you have been blocked, it won’t show delivered until the recipient received the text message.
As long as someone is blocked on iPhone or even on android phone, the text message will never say or show delivered until the person is unblocked by the recipient.
If a sent text message shows delivered, the it means the recipient didn’t block you at all.
Do you get messages after you unblock someone on iMessage?
The straight answer is no. You don’t get the blocked text messages after you unblocked a contact on iMessage.
On iMessage, Once you blocked someone on iMessage and the person sends a text message to your iPhone, you can’t receive those text messages even if you ahead to unblock the person on your iPhone or iMessage you won’t still be able to receive those blocked text messages.
This is why you need to be very sure before blocking someone on your iPhone.
The only option you have in order to receive those blocked texts messages is to request from the sender to resend the blocked text messages to you and this is applied to even the latest IOS 16 update.
So for the meantime, there’s no possible means to receive blocked text messages on iMessage. Maybe later in the future, Apple might add the feature or make possible to receive blocked text messages when the person is unblocked on iPhone or iMessage.
When you block someone on iPhone what do they see?
Definitely they won’t see anything even when you are sharing your location with them on your iPhone.
If you are sharing your location with someone on iPhone and you happens to block the person, immediately and automatically location sharing with person will stop and this means that the person will no longer see your current location on iMessage and share my app, send text messages or call you on your iPhone.
If someone you are sharing location with on iPhone blocked you on his iPhone, instead of seeing the person’s current location what you will be seeing will be Not Sharing Location.
This means the other person is no longer sharing location with you because you have been blocked by the person.
A blocked person will see that his text messages and calls are no longer getting delivered to that very recipient.
Why am I not receiving texts after unblocking
Kindly know that you can’t receive blocked text messages when you unblock someone on iPhone or even on android phone.
However, you can only receive subsequent text messages from the contacts on your iPhone or Android phone.
If after unblocking someone on your phone and you can’t seem to receive new text messages from the contact, please check to see if you truly unblocked the person on your phone. You can restart or reboot your phone in order to fix the problem.
Lastly before I go, if i unblock someone on imessage what happens? If you unblock someone on iMessage, blocked texts messages will never get resend to your phone but susequent texts from the contact will be delivered to your phone.