One of the ways of seeing someone’s location on iPhone is through the iMessage and find my app.
As you’re sharing your location with someone on your iPhone, the person can easily track you on find my app and the iMessage. This is quite helpful for friends and family members that are very close and wouldn’t mind sharing their current location.
Does imessage location show when you’re active?
The answer is yes. iMessage location will show once you’re active on your iPhone and have an active internet connection like the Wi-Fi or cellular data.
There are two things involved in this answer, being active on your iPhone without having an active internet connection which includes playing offline games or watching offline videos.
The other is being active on iMessage and which means your internet connection is active. Once you have an active internet connection on your iPhone someone can easily track you.
- Does imessage turn green when blocked? Answered
- What does it mean when imessage doesn’t say delivered? Explained
Asking does imessage location show when you re active, the answer is yes and your current location will update and show on the iMessage map as long as you are sharing location with someone on your iPhone.
If you don’t fancy your location to be shown when you’re active on your iPhone or iMessage in particular, here’s what you need to do.
1. Disable location services on your iPhone
As I wouldn’t recommend you to stop sharing location on your iPhone, the best option you have is to disable location services on your iPhone.
Once location services is disabled on your iPhone no one will be able to see your current location and you don’t have to worry about someone tracking you on your iPhone.
To disable location services on your iPhone, get started by opening the settings app and scroll down to Privacy and open it.
As you opened privacy, you will see Location Services. Go ahead and open location services by tapping on it.
On the next window you will find out that location services is enabled on your iPhone, so please go ahead and disable it by sliding back the button and it will be greyed out just like on the picture below.
Once you disabled location services on your iPhone, if you’re active on IMessage or your iPhone in general your location won’t show up or update.
Here comes the truth.
If you disable location services on your iPhone, the other person you are sharing location will know about it, but only if the person tries to track your location.
On iMessage, it will display Location not available just like on the picture below.
On Find My App, it will show Location Services Off which indicates that the person has disabled it’s location services or it is not active on the person’s iPhone.
In some cases you may see Not Sharing Location especially if your iPhone is running on the latest ios 15.6.
Once you disable or turn off location services without touching Share My Location on your iPhone, iMessage location will not show as it will be unavailable.
- Will imessage say delivered if phone is off? Explained
- How to tell if someone deleted your iMessage?
Another method to prevent your location from being tracked by those you are sharing your location with is by turning off share my location on your iPhone.
To disable or turn off Share My Location on your iPhone, kindly open the settings app, scroll down to Privacy and open it.
Open location services and look closely you will see Share My Location.
Tap on Share My Location and on the next window you will see another option that says Share My Location and which is enabled on your iPhone.
Simply disable or turn off the feature by slidding back the button and which will turn from green to white.
If you disable share my location on your iPhone, you can’t be tracked on iMessage or on find my app.
Once again, if you disable Share My Location on your iPhone, the person you are sharing location with on your iPhone will see Not Sharing Location.
This two methods are best means of preventing someone you’re sharing location with not to track you unless you want to go ahead and stop sharing location with the person.
When there’s no internet connection
If you are active on your iPhone watching videos and playing offline games without having an active internet connection on your iPhone, iMessage location will never show.
This is because iMessage location or the location services on iPhone works with internet and when there’s no internet, then iMessage location will never work.
This is applicable to fnd my app.
Once you don’t have internet service on your iPhone, there’s nothing to worry about as you can’t be tracked on iMessage or find my app.
To round it up, if you care so much if at all does imessage location show when you’re active, by turning off location services or share my location will help prevent that happening.
Does someones location update when they’re on their phone?
Someone’s location will update if the person has an active internet connection and which location services is enabled on the phone.
If you’re using your phone but has no internet connection, your location will not update but rather it will show your old previous location.
Now listen, for someone’s location to update, there must be an active internet connection on the phone and this is applicable to find my app and the iMessage.
Once you have internet connection like the Wi-Fi or cellular data, definitely your location will update but only for people, family or friends you’re sharing location with on your phone.
How often does someones location update on iPhone?
Someone location updates every five minutes especially if the person moved out from the previous location.
Without waiting for find my app to update the location you can simply refresh the app and it will update the person’s location.
Once you’re in a new area, environment or location, definitely find my app will know about that and thanks to location services which will update immediately to your current location.
Does Find My iPhone show when they’re active?
The straight answer is yes. Find my iphone will show if someone who is sharing location with you is active on their phone.
This is one typical feature I like about the find my iphone or probably Find My App.
For example, Charles is sharing location with you and you responded by sharing your location with Charles. Now if Charles happens to be active on his phone, find my iphone or find my app will show that the person is online.
Also, if someone who is sharing location with you decides to disable location services or share my location on their device, find my app will indicate if the person is online as long as the person has an active internet connection on it’s device.
Does iMessage notify when you stop sharing location?
The answer is yes. iMessage will only notify it on your message app but the other person won’t be notified about it.
Previously, when you stopped sharing location with someone on your iPhone, iPad, Mac or the Apple watch, iMessage will immediately notify the person about it on it’s message app but that has really changed since the release of ios 15.6.
The person won’t be notified about it on the message app except for you.
However, the person will still know about once your location suddenly disappear on iMessage. Let me give you an example on how the person will find out that you have stopped sharing location on iMessage.
If someone is sharing location with you on iMesssage or iphone, when you check the person’s info on iMessage it will look like the below picture.
Immediately someone stopped sharing location with you on iMessage or Apple device, when you check the person’s info on iMessage this is how it will look like.
Once the person couldn’t view your location on iMessage, it will simply indicate that you have stopped sharing location with the person.
When does iMessage location update?
iMessage location usually update every 5 minutes or any time someone’s checks your location.
For example, if someone continues to check your location every two minutes then it simply means iMessage location will continue to update as long as you have an active internet connection on your device.
Lastly before I go, does imessage location show when you’re active? The answer is yes. iMessage location will show once you’re active on your iPhone and have an active internet connection like the Wi-Fi or cellular data.