When someone shares their location how do you see it?
Last Updated on March 8, 2022 by Kennedy
Sharing a location is one of the ways which you can find the current location of a person or contact in your mobile phone. Family members share location with one another and as well as close friends.
Talking about sharing location with another person on your mobile phone and be it android or iPhone, the question being asked is;
When someone shares their location how do you see it?
When someone start sharing their location with you on your mobile phone, you will receive a notification about the location sharing and through maps you can see the person’s location.
Oksy this is just an explanation as I will further explain it to you based on how location sharing works on android and iPhone.
Lets proceed to that.
Yoi will be notified about the location sharing on your mobile phone and whicg you have to accept it and then being able to view the person’s current location through maps.
The way location sharing works on android is quite different from iPhone, even though you will still use it to track someone and see the person’s current location.
I will say both android location sharing and iPhone location sharing are very good and accurate, but I prefer the google location sharing simply because of the google map.
There’s no doubt that Google map is a lot better that Apple map, but this doesn’t mean that Apple map or ios map is very poor, no, the map is very good especially with the last update.
However, Google map is simply splendid when it comes to mobile maps.
Talking about when someone shares their location how do you see it, I will explain it in two categories and which includes android and ios.
On iPhone, once someone start sharing location with you on your iPhone, you will receive a notification about it. Afterwards you can view the person’s location at any given time through Find My app(formerly find my phone).
After seeing the notification that someone has started location with you, next is to go ahead and explore the location sharing.
That is to say you are now able to view the person’s current location at any given time except if the person disables location sharing or location services on it’s iPhone or probably stop sharing location with you.
Using Find My App
To view the person’s location, open Find My app on your iPhone and you will see the person’s apple ID or email address which will display the person’s current location.
If the person has an active internet connection and it’s location services and share my location is enabled and active, it will indicate that the person is online. Wait for a few minutes for the app to update the person’s location.
On the map you will see the current location of the person as it’s mobile phone, email address or Apple ID will be shown at the person’s exact location.
Using Messages app
Through messages app you can view someone’s location after the person must have started sharing location with you. Now you open the message app and location the conversation you had with the person, if there’s none then start a conversation with the contact.
Tap on the person’s profile to showcase the person’s information or details, right there you will see a map that shows the person’s current location or previous location.
To properly view the person’s location, tap the map and it will enlarge the display, you will see an info icon located at the bottom right corner of your screen, kindly tap on that icon.
Now select to view on either hybrid or satellite and it will display a better view of the person’s current location along with street names and traffic.
This is all about location sharing on iPhone and helps you to understand the question of the day, when someone shares their location how do you see it.
Location sharing on Android
Previously on android, once another user starts sharing location with you Google will notify you through your Gmail address or Google notifications.
Right now especially since the introduction of Android 9, to share location with someone Google will provide a url which you have to share or send to the person through sms text message or using whatsapp or any other instant messaging apps.
The person will receive the sent message containing the url on it’s mobile phone and which the person will have to open the url and accept location sharing with the person.
Right after that you are now able to view the person’s current location but only when the person has an active internet connection on it’s android phone.
If not what you will be seeing is offline.
Viewing a location on android
To view someone’s location on android and mind you it is the person sharing location with you, open the google map and tap on your profile.
A list of options will be presented to you and this includes location sharing
Tap on location sharing and you will see all the list of people or contacts sharing location with you.
Now simply tap on any of the contact to view their location but if the contacts doesn’t have an active internet connection or their location is not enabled, you will see offline updating just like on the picture below.
But if the person or contact is available, you will be able to view the person’s current location or track the person using the Google map. So far Google map is better compared to ios map especially when it comes to street address and roads.
How to turn off location without the other person knowing?
Please kindly know that if you turn off location on your phone, the other person won’t be notified about it but will got to know if you are shown offline.
Again, there’s no way you will turn off location on your phone without the person you are sharing location with not knowing about it.
On iPhone, it won’t show that you are online but rather it will show that you are offline or no location available. This has already indicates that you turned off location sharing or probably location services on your iPhone.
This is also the same on android, once you turn off location on your android phone or tablet, the other person will see that you are offline and it won’t update to your current location.
This alone shows that your location is turned off or not available because you don’t have an active internet connection or probably turned off location.
This is caused when the person has turned off location services on it’s phone or has no active internet connection.
For you to see someone’s location, the person must enable location services on it’s cell phone and must have an active internet connection. With this two not available on a cell phone, you cannot view the person’s location even when they have shared location with you.
If someone sharing location with you doesn’t want you to view it’s location, what the person will do is to disable or turn off location services or location sharing on it’s phone, this will in turn prevent people from seeing it’s current location.
When you delete someone on Find My Friends can they still see your location?
When you delete someone on Find My Friends, they will no longer be able to view your location or current location.
To delete someone on find my friends means to remove that very contact and once you have done that, the person will no longer be able to see your location. But remember that the person will be notified or informed that you have stopped sharing location with him or her.
If you don’t care about the person knowing that you stopped sharing location with him or her, go ahead and tap on stop sharing location and the person will in turn stop sharing location with you as well.
Does removing someone’s location notify them?
The answer is yes. They will be notified when you stop sharing location with them on their cell phone and this is applicable to iPhone and android phone
On iphone the person will see the notification on it’s iMessage and no matter how hard you try to prevent the person from knowing thar you have stopped sharing location with him or her, the person will got to know as long as you had a conversation with the person on iMessage.
On android, Google will send a notification to the person notifying the person that you have stopped sharing location with him or her.
Once you stopped sharing location with someone, bear it in your mind that the person will immediately stop sharing location with you.
In terms of family members, that will be bad bad and it is better you didn’t start to share location with any of your family members instead of doing and later stop sharing location.
Talking about when someone shares their location how do you see it, kindly note that you will be notified when someone shares location with you and through find my app on iPhone or Google map on Android you can view the person’s current location but only if the person’s phone is active and has an active internet connection.