There’s no doubt that location sharing is very helpful and same time beneficial when it comes to friends and family members. Through location sharing you can track someone and see the person’s current location.
However, not many actually fancy location sharing especially when they don’t want another person to know their current location. And to avoid being tracked, the will stop sharing location with you.
This brings about the question of the day.
How do you know if someone stops sharing their location with you?
Once someone stop sharing their location with you, it will show can see your location on iPhone or iPad.
If you are using an iPhone or an iPad, it is very much easy to know when someone stop sharing location with you and thanks to find my phone and iMessage location sharing.
Once someone stop sharing it’s location with you, immediately you open find my phone app and try to find the person, it will show or indicate that the person has stop sharing location with you.
Below is a typical example of what I’m talking about.
This is how to know if someone stops sharing their location with you. Once you see not sharing location on find my phone, then you should know that the person has stop sharing it’s location with you.
It can be quite annoying especially when family members are involved.
Now I want you to know that there’s a difference when you can’t track someone or couldn’t see someone’s location while trying to track the person.
In this type of situation what you will see is location not available, and it is very different from stop sharing location.
I will go ahead to explain the difference as it is very essential to this question of the day, how do you know if someone stops sharing their location with you.
If your phone is running on ios 16.3 update and above, it will no longer show not sharing location as that has changed to Can See Your Location as shown below.
Difference between location not available and stops sharing location
The difference between location not available and stops sharing location is that when it says location not available it simply means the person’s phone is switched off or has no internet connection.
While when it says stops sharing location, it simply means the person has removed or stop sharing it’s location with you.
I’m saying this based on my experience sharing locations on iphone and using find my phone.
If you have family members or friends you do share location with and all of a sudden you tried tracking the person and what you saw was location not available on find my phone.
There are number of issues that do cause this problem and they are as follows;
1. When the phone is switched off
When someone’s iphone whom you are sharing location with is switched off, you can’t track the person’s current location and instead what you will be seeing is location not available.
I found out that if someone doesn’t want you to know it’s current location and instead of him or her to stop sharing location with you and which you will detect, they will switch off their phone.
2. No available internet connection
As GPS and maps or tracking someone majorly requires an active internet connection, if the person has no internet connection on it’s cell phone there’s no way you can be able to track the person. Instead what you will be getting will be seeing is location not available.
3. When location services is turned off
This is what lots of people do very often instead of turning off their phone.
What they will do is to disable location services and there’s no way they will be tracked even if they have an active internet connection on their iPhone or iPad.
Now when you see location not available while trying to track someone on your phone, there are three things involved and they are;
- When the phone is switched off
- There is no active internet connection
- Location services is turned off or disabled
When it says stops sharing
It simply means the other person has stopped sharing location with and this means you cannot track or see the person’s location anymore.
There’s nothing you can do about it when someone stop sharing location with you except if you request the reason for that. To stop sharing location is just similar to blocking someone on Imessage or blocking the person from calling you and it is very annoying for me.
How do you know if someone stopped sharing their location on iMessage?
On iMessage, when someone stopped sharing location with you, the iMessage location map will disappear.
Previously you will be notified on iMessage but sinf4 the last ios updates, Apple has really changed that unless your phone runs on ios 15 below.
iMessage is one of the easy ways to know when someone stopped sharing location with you because you will receive a message showing the person no longer share location with you.
Below is a typical example of what I’m talking about.
If the person start sharing location with you it will also show on your iMessage like on the picture above.
The above image will occur if your phone is on ios 15 update and below.
Here’s the latest update.
New Update on iMessage location sharing:
From ios 16 update and above, iMessage no longer notify or indicate when someone stop sharing their location with you.
That has really changed over the last ios updates.
Right now, if you want to know if someone stopped sharing their location with you on iMesage, check if you will see the iMessage location map for that contact.
If you didn’t see a map, then it means the person has stopped sharing location with you.
Below is a typical example.
The above image shows the imessage location map, which indicate that location is being shared.
This other image has no imessage location map which indicate that the person is not or no longer sharing location with me.
So this is the new method to know if someone stop sharing location with you on iMessage.
If someone stops sharing their location with you are you notified?
The answer is no. You won’t be notified on find my app, iMessage or Google map.
Previously you will be notified on iMessage but that has changed over the last few months and last ios updates.
You will no longer get notified and this applies to google location map.
On android, once you stop sharing location with someone, Google will immediately send a message to the contact notifying the person that you no longer share location with him or her.
So if you want to stop sharing location with someone, kindly know that the person will know and there’s no secrecy when it comes to sharing location and to stop sharing location.
On android, to know if someone stop sharing location with you, kindly open the google map, tap on your google account picture and you will see location sharing.
Tap on location sharing and you will see all the contacts you are sharing location with or they are sharing location with you.
Now if the person or contact happens to stop sharing location with you, you will no longer see the contact on the list of contacts sharing location with you. And this is howto know if someone stops sharing their location with you on android.
What happens when someone stops sharing their location with you?
You will no longer be able to see the person’s current location as you can’t track their location.
Does can see your location mean they stopped sharing theirs?
The answer is yes. Can see your location means they have stopped sharing their location with you.
If someone stops sharing their location with you can they still see yours?
The answer is yes. They can still your location as long as you’re still sharing location with them.
So what you have to do is to stop sharing location with them as well.