Difference between no location found and location not available

Last Updated on August 9, 2022 by Kennedy

Trying to understand the difference between no location found and location not available while trying to track someone on your iPhone, iPad or any of the Apple device, I got you covered here in this article.

The two terms may seem alike but they are quite different and this is popular if you are using find my app to track someone you are sharing location with on your device.

Whenever it says no location found, it simply means the person’s location cannot be accessed due to location services not being active, while location not available is temporarily and can be caused by poor internet coverage.

Before going further to explain the difference between no location found and location not available mean on find my app.


Related Post:


Understanding no location found

Difference between no location found and location not available

When tracking someone who is sharing location with you and instead of seeing the person’s current location, what you saw is no location found, this simply means that the person’s location cannot be accessed at that very moment.

It is usually caused by location services and location sharing not being active due to the fact that the person’s phone is not active, has no internet connection or probably both location services and share my location is disabled.

Most time when location services is disabled on the person’s phone, you will see location services off, and same goes to share my location. However, it doesn’t indicate very often as you may see no location found instead of location services off.

Most times I noticed I noticed that no location found usually happen when the person’s phone is switched off and this will prevent location services and share my location to be inactive.


Related Post:


Understanding location not available 

When it says location not available while tracking someone on find my app, this simply means the person’s current location is still not available as find my app is still trying to update to the current location. 

When it says location not available, after a short while it will immediately show the current location of the person and which is not case whenever it shows no location found. 

No location found on find my app will never show the current location of the person after a short while and the person’s device will be blank. So what I’m trying to explain here on location not available is that it occurs when find my app is trying to access and update to the person’s current location. 


Related Post:


The difference between no location found and location not available

The difference between no location found and location not available is that when it says no location found it simply means the person’s phone is switched off or offline and which prevent location services from being active.

While when it says location not available, find my app is still trying to update to the current location of the person you’re tracking.

Below is tabular format of the difference between no location found and location not available

No location found  Location not available 
This is caused when the phone is switched off or in offline mode This causes when find my app is still trying to access and update the person’s current location 
The person’s device or phone will be blank in color  The person’s phone will not be blank in color or look generic 
Location not found also occurs when there’s no internet connection  Can occur when there’s an internet connection 
In most cases location services and share my location is not active  Here location services and Share my location is pretty much active on the person’s device 
Will not immediately update to the person’s current location  After few seconds or a minute, it will update to the person’s current location 

How do you know if someone stopped sharing their location with you?

To know if someone stopped sharing their location with you, on your iMessage you will receive a message which notifies you that someone has stopped sharing location with you.

When someone who is sharing location with you suddenly stops, iMessage will notify you about that but it will be on the chat message or conversation you had with the person.

Mind you, when you start sharing location with someone on find my app, it will still reflect on iMessage. Now this simply means that if that person that is sharing it’s location with you stopped, iMessage will notify you about that.

Aside from iMessage notifying you about that, another way to know if someone stopped sharing their location with you is that it will show not sharing location on find my app if you’re trying tracking the person.

Below is a typical example of what I’m talking about.

Difference between no location found and location not available

Now if you never had any conversation with the person on iMessage, this is the best way to know if the someone who is sharing location with you suddenly stopped sharing it’s location with you.

Lookimg at the above picture, online simply means the person’s phone or Apple device has an active internet connection, not sharing location simply means the person is not sharing location with you. 

Because of this, you cannot see or track the personusing find my app or on iMessage. 

Note: If someone who is sharing it’s location with you stopped doing so, you shouldn’t hesitate to do the same because the person will still be able to see your location but you can’t see the person’s current location.

I’m saying this incase you are sharing your location with the person.

To stop sharing your location with someone on iPhone, iPad or any Apple device, simply open iMessage and look for the chat or conversation you had with the person. 

Tap on the person or contact name and you will see where it states Stop Sharing My Location.

Difference between no location found and location not available

Kindly tap on Stop Sharing My Location and you’re good to go. 

The other person will no longer be able to see your current location and henceforth. If the person try to track your location, he or she will see not sharing location on it’s find my app.

What does it say when someone turns off their location?

When someone turns off their location, it will say location services off.

This is applicable if you are using find my app to track someone you iPhone, iPad, or any Apple device. If the person turn off it’s share my location, it will still indicate that share my location is off if you are trying to track the person. 

On iPhone or any of the Apple device, for you to track someone, both location services and share my location should be active on your phone and as well as the person’s phone.

It is very compulsory.

This is very compulsory, Location Services, Share My Location, and active internet connection like Wi-Fi or cellular data.

Why does my iPhone say no location found?

Your iPhone say no location found if the person you’re tracking is offline or it’s phone is switched off.

By switching off phone means that location services and location sharing will not be available or active. Because of this, there is no way to track someone on your iPhone except if the person’s phone is active and has an active internet connection like Wi-Fi or cellular data.

Does no location found mean they stopped sharing location?

They didn’t neccesarily stopped sharing location because if someone stopped sharing location with you, find my app will notify you about that.

Tracking the person what you will see is Not sharing location and this simply means the person’s is no longer sharing his or her location with you and in turn you can’t track the person on find my app or iMessage.

This is also applicable to android phone users. Once someone stopped sharing location with you, Google will notify you on that through Google map location sharing.

Does it say no location found when iPhone dies?

Definitely it will say no location when iphone dies as location services and share my location will no longer be accessible on find my app.

If your phone is dead, offline without internet, or active without internet, and someone you are sharing location wants to track you, what the person will see will be no location found. 

Leave a Comment