Skip to Content

What happens when you unblock someone on iphone? Answered

Last Updated on June 3, 2022 by Kennedy

When you block someone on your iPhone this will literally prevent the person from contacting you through calls and text messages. Sometimes we may tends to unblock the person especially when we see the need to do so. 

This leads us to one of the question being asked when it comes to unblocking someone on an iPhone

What happens when you unblock someone on iphone

The question we have here is;

What happens when you unblock someone on iphone?

When you unblock someone on iphone, the person’s text messages will be delivered to you and also, the person will be able to call your phone number.

This is an initial explanation as I will go ahead to explain one after the other what happens when you unblock someone on your iphone.

1. The person will be able to call your number

When you block someone on your phone app, this means preventing the person from calling your number on your iPhone. Now after you must have unblocked the person from your mobile phone, calls from the person will definitely go to your cellphone.

However, in most cases whereby you blocked someone on your iPhone the person may even get rid of your phone number especially if you blocked the person for a long period of time. 

What I’m trying to say is that the person may not remember to call your number in order to see if you have unblocked him or her on your iPhone.


Related Posts


2. Sms text messages and iMessages from the contact will be delivered to your IPhone

Mostly when we block someone on our phone, it is usually on the phone app and the message app.

Talking about what happens when you unblock someone on iphone, bear in mind that recent sms text messages and iMessages from the contact will now be delivered to your iPhone.

But this is what you should bear in mind;

Blocked sms text messages and iMessages from the contact won’t be delivered to your phone after you must have unblocked the person.

Why I’m saying this is because some usually think that when they unblock someone on their iPhone they will receive blocked sms text messages or iMessages from that very contact, but that isn’t the case. You won’t receive the blocked messages unless you ask the sender to resend the blocked messages back to your phone.

3. Location sharing will be made available

Do you know that if you are sharing location with someone on your phone and suddenly you blocked the person on your message app and phone app, by doing so you have automatically stopped sharing your location with the person. 

This means the person won’t be able to see your location but you can view the person’s current location. 

But the truth is that when you block someone on your iPhone and in turn location sharing will be stopped, the person will be notified about it on it’s iMessage.

Now if the person try to send you an iMessage and see that it doesn’t go through and later find out that you have blocked it’s contact on your phone, he or she may do the same to you or probably stop sharing location with you.

4. Facetime calls will be available

Let me make this clear.

If you happen to block someone on your message app especially if your iPhone is running on ios 15 and above, facetime calls will not be blocked. 

That is to say the person whom you blocked on your message app or phone app will still be able to contact you on FaceTime. If you don’t want the person to contact you on FaceTime then you have to block the person on FaceTime as well. 

Let me show you how you can block someone on FaceTime.

Open facetime app and locate the contact on your facetime. Now tap on the i icon to open the contact information.

What happens when you unblock someone on iphone

Once you tapped on the i icon it will open the contact information and at the bottom you will see where it states block this caller. 

Go ahead and tap on it. By doing so you have blocked the person from contacting you on FaceTime. 

Talking about what happens when you unblock someone on iphone, once you unblock someone on FaceTime the person won’t be notified about it but will be able to call you on FaceTime.

Both audio calls and video calls will go through. 

What will not happen when you unblock someone on iPhone

Blocked sms text messages and iMessages from the contact won’t be delivered to your phone after you must have unblocked the person.

Because some people believe that when they unblock someone on their iPhone, they would get blocked sms text messages or iMessages from that person, this is not the case. Unless you ask the sender to resend the blocked messages to your phone, you will not get them.

What will happen when you unblock someone on whatsapp on iPhone 

If you unblock someone on whatsapp right on your iPhone, the person will be able to see your profile picture, whatsapp status, last seen and be able to contact you on whatsapp.

1. Profile Picture Will Be Visible: If you happen to block someone on whatsapp, automatically you have blocked the person from seeing your whatsapp profile picture. Once you unblock the person on whatsapp, the person will be able to see your whatsapp profile picture.

WhatsApp profile picture is the first indication that shows someone is blocked and unblocked unless the there’s no whatsapp profile picture.

2. See When You Are Online And Last Seen If Applicable:

When blocked on whatsapp, you won’t be able to see if the other person is online or last seen. But immediately the person unblock your number on it’s whatsapp account, the person’s online status and last seen will be made visible to you unless the person turned them off.

This also applies to whatsapp status. Once you are blocked on whatsapp, the person’s whatsapp status will no longer be visible to you anymore until the person unblock your number on it’s whatsapp account.

3. Calls And Messages Will Get Delivered: If you unblock someone on whatsapp, be rest assured that the person will now be able to to contact you through calls and messages.

How to know if someone unblock you on iPhone

To know if someone unblock you on iPhone, kindly send an iMessage to the person and see if it will get delivered. If it does get delivered then be rest assured the person has unblocked you on it’s iPhone.

Please don’t send sms text message because it doesn’t show delivered just like on android and I don’t seem to understand why Apple made it to be like that. 

Another way is to try and call the person on FaceTime audio call or video call and see if it will go through. If it does go through then he rest assured the person has unblocked you on it’s iPhone.

Lastly try to see if you can track the person on Find My app or Find My Friend. If you are able to track the person on your iPhone using find my app, then it simply means the person has unblocked your number or Apple ID on it’s iPhone. 

What happens when you block someone on iPhone?

If you block someone on your iPhone, calls and text messages from the person will be prevented from getting to your phone.

If you are sharing location with the said person, location sharing or share my location will no longer with the person and he or she will be notified about it on it’s iMessage.

This also applies to facetime but only if you block the person on your facetime.

The difference between blocking someone on iPhone and blocking someone on android is that location sharing will stop immediately on iPhone, while on android location sharing won’t be stopped unless the person stop sharing location with you.

Related Questions 

Do you get messages after you unblock someone?

The simple answer is no. You don’t get messages after unblocking someone on your phone, rather you may request from the person to resend the blocked messages back to your phone.

Does someone know when you unblock them on iPhone?

Once someone is able to contact you on iPhone, this literally shows that you have unblocked the person and in turn the person will know about it.

But please bear in mind that the person won’t be notified about the unblocking.

How do you view blocked messages on iPhone?

So far there is no way to view blocked messages on iPhone even though it is available in some android phones. Once a message is blocked on iPhone, that’s the final unless you unblock the person and the person resend the message back to your phone.

Lastly before I go,

What happens when you unblock someone on iphone? When you unblock someone on iphone, the person’s text messages will be delivered to you, and the person will be able to call your phone number.