Skip to Content

If i turn off share my location in settings will it notify?

Last Updated on April 20, 2022 by Kennedy

For the fact that you’re in this page simply means that you are looking for a solution as not to share your location with your friends and family, and without them finding out.

When it comes to location sharing on iPhone or even on android phone, once you stop sharing location with someone, automatically the person will be notified about that.

On iPhone, the person will go to know about it through iMessage and on android the person will find out through Google map.

In this article we’ll be looking at the question of the day and which is;

If i turn off share my location in settings will it notify?

The answer is no. If you turn off share my location in settings the other person you are sharing location with, will never get notified about it.

However, there are ways which the person will detect that indeed you have turned off location sharing on your iPhone or android phone. 

Now the question will be, 

How will the person find out?

Once someone you are sharing location with, happens to see no location found while trying to see your current location, it is a good indication that you have indeed turned off share my location on your iPhone. 

But the truth is that it is not just when you you turned off share my location that the other person will start seeing No Location Found, but also when the phone is dead, offline or has no active internet connection, or even when you turned off location services on your iPhone. 


Related Posts:


As the other person won’t be notified about the fact that you have turned off share my location on your iPhone, if the person ask the reason why he or she is seeing No Location Found while trying to see your location, simply answer the person that during that period you don’t have an active internet connection or your phone was offline.

No Location Found is usually caused by:

  • The phone is offline. 
  • The phone is dead. 
  • The phone has no active internet connection. 
  • Location services is turned off. 
  • Share my location is turned off. 
  • You have stopped sharing location with the person. 

How to turn off share my location in settings

To turn off share my location in settings;

  • Simply open the settings app on your phone. 
  • Scroll down to privacy and open it. 
  • Open Location Services on the next page and right there you will see Share My Location.
  • Open Share My Location and you will be on the page.
  • Go ahead and turn off share my location just like on the picture below. 

if i turn off share my location in settings will it notify

As you have turned off share my location on your phone, be rest assured that the people you are sharing your location with, will never get notified about it. You don’t need to bother yourself trying to know if i turn off share my location in settings will it notify cause the answer is no.

When you stop sharing location does it notify the other person on iMessage?

The answer is yes. When you stop sharing location with someone it will automatically notify the person on the iMessage.

Below is a typical example of what I’m talking about.

When you stop sharing location does it notify the other person iMessage

The above picture shows that the person will be notified on iMessage that you have stopped sharing location with him or her.

So the the only way is to turn off location services on Find My App or probably turn off Share My Location on your phone.

How to turn off location services on find my friends

To turn off location services on find my friends, kindly open the settings app and scroll down to privacy and open it. 

Tap on Location Services and scroll down to Find My App and tap to open. You will see the option that states Allow Location Access which is usually set to While Using the App.

Now all you have to do is to set it to Never just like on the picture below.

if i turn off share my location in settings will it notify

Once you have disabled location access on the Find My App, no one will be able to see your location and the best part is that they won’t be notified about it. You can also turn off location access on Map and the message app.

Remember, once you turn off location access on the message app, it will prevent people from seeing your location through the iMessage.

How to turn off Find My Friends without parents knowing?

To turn off Find My Friends without parents knowing;

  • Open the settings app and scroll down to privacy and open it as well. 
  • Tap on Location Services and scroll down to Find My and open it.
  • The next page will be Allow Location Access and you have to set it to never just like on the picture. 

turn off Find My Friends without parents knowing?

Once you have set location services on the Find My app to NEVER, no one will be able to see your location including your parents and they won’t be notified about it.

But just I said earlier on, once someone start to see No Location Found while trying to see your location, it is a good indication that you have turned off location services or location sharing on your phone. But it can also mean that the phone is offline, thephone is dead or maybe the phone has no active internet connection.

How to remove someone from Find My Friends without notifying them

To remove someone from Find My Friends without notifying them, all you have to do is to create a new apple ID on your phone and remove the old one.

Why I’m saying this?

It is because there is no way you can remove someone from find my friends or stop sharing location with the person without him or her not getting notified about it.

This is one major painful aspect of location sharing on both iPhone and android phone.

This is something you wouldn’t want to do but you don’t have any option. You can chose to use two Apple ID on your phone but most especially select the new Apple ID as your main apple ID on your phone.

After you must have created a new APPLE ID, share location with those you are very much comfortable with and that’s it.

ANOTHER ADVISE 

Instead of removing any of your friends and family from Find My Friends, you can turn off location services or restrict location access on the app and you will still be able to use the app to view your friends and family locations.

What happens if I turn off share my location on my iPhone?

If you turn off share my location on your iPhone, no one will be able to see your location and all it will display will be no location found.

As long as you didn’t enable share youry location on your iPhone, your location will be invisible and you can’t share your location with your friends and family.

In this type of scenario, if you don’t fancy friends and family you are sharing location with to see your current location, go ahead and turn it off. After you must have done that, they won’t be able to see your location and instead they will be seeing No Location Found while trying to see your location.

Can you turn off your location on iPhone without someone knowing?

The answer is yes. Once you turn off your location on your iPhone the other person you are trying to sharing location with, won’t get get notified about it. 

The only time or the moment when the person will be notified about it is when you stopped sharing your location with the person. Automatically the person will be notified on it’s iMessage that you have stopped sharing location with him or her.

Lastly before I go, if i turn off share my location in settings will it notify? The answer is no. If you turn off share my location in settings the other person you are sharing location with, will never get notified about it.