Skip to Content

Does imessage location work when phone is locked? Explained

Last Updated on April 11, 2022 by Kennedy

When it comes to tracking someone on iPhone, iMessage is one of the best ways but only if you are sharing location with the person.

There are several ways to prevent someone you are sharing location not to track you on your iPhone and which I’ve explained in other articles, and here we’ll be looking at if at all does imessage location work when phone is locked. 

Does imessage location work when phone is locked? 

iMessage location sharing will work even if the phone is locked as long as the phone has an active internet connection and location services is enabled.

If you are looking for ways to stop iMessage location from working and which will prevent you from being tracked, this is what you should do. 

Simply disable location services and location sharing on your iPhone. 

Remember, if you stop sharing location on your iPhone the other will definitely know as the person will receive a notification that you have stopped sharing location with him or her. 

So the only solution is to disable location services and location sharing on your iPhone and this will in turn prevent you from being tracked on your iPhone.


Related Posts


Let me explain to you how to disable location services and location sharing on your IPhone.

How to disable location services and location sharing on iPhone

To disable location services and location sharing on iPhone, open the settings app and scroll down to privacy and open it. 

You will see location services, tap to open it and on the next screen make sure to disable Location Services just like on the picture below. 

does imessage location work when phone is locked

After you have disabled location services on your iPhone, move to the next and tap on Share My Location and on the next screen make sure to disable Share My Location on your iPhone just like on the picture below. 

does imessage location work when phone is locked

When you have disabled location services and location sharing on your iPhone, no one will be able to track you down using iMessage or find my app. 

Talking about does imessage location work when phone is locked, kindly note that as long as location services and share my location is enabled on your iPhone someone will be able to track even if your phone is locked. 

So the only solution is to simply disable these two features or turn off internet on your iPhone.

But there is no way you can use your iPhone without internet as many apps and phone features requires internet, the only option you have is to disable location services and share my location. 

If you are not bothered about the person finding out that you have stopped sharing location with him or her, you can go ahead and stop sharing location with the person. 

How to stop sharing location on iPhone

To stop sharing location with someone on your iPhone, open the message app and scroll down to the conversation you had with person. 

Tap on the person’s profile or contact name to open the person’s info.

iMessage

Tap on the person’s profile name just on the above picture and it will open the person’s info. 

On the next screen you will see where states Stop Sharing My Location. Go ahead and tap on Stop Sharing My Location and it will stop sharing location with the person.

iMessage

Note that immediately you tapped on stop sharing my location, the person will be notified about it on it’s iMessage.

How do I freeze my location on Imessage without them knowing? 

To freeze your location on iMessage without them knowing, you simply have to disable location services and location sharing on your iPhone.

Once you have disabled these two features on your iPhone, no one will be able to track your location using the iMessage. Please scroll up and you will see how to turn off location services and location sharing on iPhone.

Another way to freeze  location on iMessage without the other person knowing about it is simply by internet on your iPhone. However, that’s crazy as it is very difficult using an iPhone, iPad or even Android phone and tablet without internet.

So the only way is to turn location services and location sharing which will not notify the other person and you are good to go.

How do you know if someone turned off their location iPhone?

To know if someone turned off their location on iPhone, try to track the person and if it shows no location found then it simply means the person has turned off location services on it’s iPhone. 

Also when there is no active internet connection on the person’s phone, it will also display no location found while tracking the person.

As long as you are not able to see the location of someone that is sharing it’s location with you and more especially if it says no location found, it is a good indication that the person turned off it’s location services and location sharing. 

What does it mean when someones location says location not found? 

When it says location not found, it simply means the person’s phone is switched off, has no internet connection or probably turned off location services which prevents it’s location from being tracked or seen. 

To be able to see someone’s location, the person’s phone must have an active internet connection be it Wi-Fi or cellular data. This will help location services and find my app to update the person’s current location. 

In the case whereby the phone is switched off or offline with no active internet connection, tracking the person will show location not found though in some occasion you will see the person’s previous location.

Now if the person turned off it’s location services and location sharing on it’s iPhone, iPad, Mac or or Apple watch, it will show location not found.

What does your location say when your phone dies? 

When your phone dies, your location will show location not found and your current location cannot be tracked. 

If you happen to have an apple watch with which is very much active and whicg you have location services enabled on your Apple watch, your current location will be seen thanks to the Apple watch. 

Lastly, does imessage location work when phone is locked? 

iMessage location sharing will work even if the phone is locked as long as the phone has an active internet connection and location services is enabled. 

This is where I wrap it and remember to disable or turn off location services and location sharing if you don’t want someone you are sharing location with to be able to see your current location.