What happens if i clear data on gmail app

This is a question of the day, what happens if i clear data on gmail app be it on android phone or probably the iPhone.

There are certain thing which might make you want to clear data on your mobile app, however, we do get confused on what the outcome will be.

Some will ask;

Will my account be deleted forever?

Or probably loose my data on the mobile application.

These questions are what I’ve tried to my best in answering them with the topic being what happens if i clear data on gmail app.

Let’s proceed.

What happens if i clear data on gmail app

Straight to the answer, definitely you’ll loose your data or account details or information or all the login on the Gmail app.

To clear data from a mobile application is completely different from clearing cache. Clearing cached files will still have your logins or account information, but clearing data on a mobile app will completely wipe out all the account login into the app.

The app will be new or just like it is when you first installed it on your phone.

However, this doesn’t mean you’ll or you have lost your Gmail account. Definitely no but you need to sign in to the Gmail app again.

For android user’s, Gmail app makes use of the Google play services, so clearing data on the Gmail app doesn’t affect your Google account at all. As you open the Gmail app after clearing the data, it will immediately connect with your Google account through the Google play services.

Back to the question again, what happens if i clear data on gmail app?

You gmail account will be removed from the Gmail app, but you can still login into the account. This doesn’t mean that you’ve terminated the account but rather removed your Google account from the Google mail application.

This isn’t just applied to Gmail, but rather all other Android apps or probably mobile app. Clearing data means removing data or information from a mobile app.

The mobile app will look new cause clearing data is similar to hard resetting a phone, while clearing cache is similar to soft resetting a phone.

So if you ask what happens if i clear data on gmail app, be rest assured that you data information or account information will be removed from the Gmail app, and you’ll have to sign in to your account on the Gmail.

Reasons to clear data on Gmail app

There are lots of reasons a user have to clear data on Gmail app or any other mobile app, however, the major ones includes the followings.

1. Mobile app crashing or lagging

This is one major reason to clear data on gmail app or any other mobile app, crashing or lagging a lot.

It can be very frustrating when you try to open a mobile app on your phone it crashed or lagging a lot, sometimes clearing cache won’t solve the problem but rather clearing data.

If you care to check your phone apps and the amount of storage the consume on your phone, you’ll noticed that cache and data are usually big in size.

The more you use the Gmail app or any other app, the more both the cache size and the data size will be. This is why I do recommend to clear cache from your mobile apps cause when they get bigger, they affect the functions of the app.

This is when you’ll start to notice some hanging or lagging of a mobile app.

This question on what happens if i clear data on gmail app comes in handy as to the reason why I need to clear data on my mobile app.

But note that I don’t recommend clearing of data on a mobile app unless there’s a good necessity to do so. Like the mobile app is crashing a lot or probably hanging and lagging.

2. Remove account from the app 

Some users will say that the reason they want to clear data on gmail app or any other mobile app is to remove all the entire attached accounts or informations on the app.

As clearing data means resetting a mobile app, all informations on the mobile app will be wiped out including cookies and cached files.

For example, if you want to remove all accounts on Facebook or Instagram app, you’ll need to clear data and it will completely wipe out all the entire accounts and logins from the application.

Mind you, this isn’t deleting of an account cause the user can still login into the account on the Facebook app.

This is how the Gmail app works and also any other app.

You need not to be afraid while trying to clear data on gmail app, your account is still intact cause you didn’t delete it. You only reset the Gmail app to its original state and that’s all.

I hope I’m answering the question on what happens if i clear data on gmail app cause I know that newbies will be lot scared on clearing data from their mobile app. But I’m telling you that you need not to be cause your account is still intact unless you go ahead and delete it.

I think I’ve answered the question on what happens if i clear data on gmail app. Now let’s move further into the post and how to clear gmail app data.

Yes, I’ve seen lots of newbies trying to understand how to clear gmail data from the Gmail mobile app on their smartphone. Doing this wouldn’t take you more than 30 seconds and you’re good to go.

Don’t miss >>> What happens if I clear data on facebook app

How to clear gmail app data

We’re are still on what happens if i clear data on gmail app as it is the topic of this very post or article.

Now is;

How to clear gmail app data.

How do I go about it on my Samsung phone, LG phone, Oppo phone, etc. Ask no further as your answer is below.

Go to apps on your android phone and locate the setting app, click to open the setting app. Scroll down to apps though it depends on what your phone referred it to.

On opening the apps, scroll down and locate gmail and tap to open it.

Look closely and you’ll see storage, now we’re drawing closer on how to clear gmail app data on your phone. Please be hundred percent sure that you want to do this and wouldn’t regret it later.

Kindly tap on storage, and below your screen are two options, one is clear cache while the other is clear data.

what happens if i clear data on gmail app

As you tap on the button, it will ask you if you’re sure you want to do clear data on gmail app.

Below is the statement;

All of this application’s data will be deleted permanently. This includes all files, settings, accounts, databases etc.

If you want to go ahead to clear data on gmail app, tap on the OK button and it will immediately reset the Gmail app to its original state and all the saved data will be wiped out from the Gmail app.

This is how to clear gmail app data from your android phone and also applied to what happens if i clear data on gmail app.

How do I delete data from Gmail?

The above tutorial has answered how do I delete data from Gmail. However, know that you can still login into the Gmail app using the same old account or the previously attached Google account.

Don’t miss >>> How to attach an email in Google Gmail

How do I clear my Gmail inbox history?

I saw this question and the need to answer it cause most people don’t know how to go about it, and please don’t forget the topic of the post what happens if i clear data on gmail app.

So this is all about the Gmail app.

How do I clear my Gmail inbox history?

For this, I will be using the Gmail app for Android phone and tablet.

So let’s proceed.

Open the Gmail app on your smartphone, and tap on the three horizontal line menu. It is located at the top left corner on your screen.

When you do so, scroll down to settings and click to open. Then select the general settings by clicking on it.

Finally tap on the three vertical dots menu located at the top right corner of your screen, and clear search history.

what happens if i clear data on gmail app

Kindly tap on clear search history and it will be wiped out from your Gmail account.

Let me repeat this again, what happens if i clear data on gmail app.

The Gmail app will be reset back to its original state and all of this application’s data will be deleted permanently. This includes all files, settings, accounts, databases etc.

But your Google account will still be intact as you didn’t delete it. However, you can still login into the Gmail app using the Google account.

Don’t Miss!!!


 

Leave a Comment