What does your location say when your phone dies? Answered
Last Updated on April 20, 2022 by Kennedy
What does your location say when your phone dies, that’s the question we have for today and which I will give you a detailed answer based on how location services and location sharing works.
Location services and location sharing is one of the best means of checking someone’s current location especially if it is a family member or a close friend.
However, in some certain instances whereby someone’s location will not be available and this is majorly caused by the following reasons;
- When the phone is switched off.
- When the phone is dead.
- When there is no active internet connection or the phone is offline.
- When location services and share my location is turned off.
- When someone stop sharing location with you.
We’ll concentrate more on the second reason and which is when the phone is dead.
This brings us to the question of the day.
What does your location say when your phone dies?
When your phone dies, it will say or show no location found when someone tries to check your location.
The above statement is applicable to both iPhone and android phone using the Google map location sharing.
I share location with my close friends and family on iPhone and also on android phone.
At one point if i don’t want want them to see my current location, I will enable airplane mode on my phone and this will prevent location services and location sharing from working as they require active internet connection.
Now if any of my family member or friends wants to check my location, they won’t be able to see my location especially my current location and instead what they will see will be no location found.
This is what they will kept on seeing until I enable internet connection on my phone.
So asking what does your location say when your phone dies, kindly note that it will show no location found when someone try to check your location.
The reason for this is simply because location services, location sharing, share my location and internet connection is not active when your phone is dead or switched off. For you to be able to see someone’s location, location services, share my location, internet service must be active on the person’s phone or tablet.
- Does imessage location work when phone is locked? Explained
- How to turn off location without the other person knowing on iPhone & Android
What happens to your location when your phone dies?
When your phone dies, it will automatically stop location services and share my location from functioning and this will in turn prevent your location from being seen by others.
Once again, for someone to track and see your location on both iPhone, iPad and android phone or tablet, location services and location sharing must be active along with an internet connection.
So you don’t expect anyone to be able to see your location when your phone is dead cause nothing will work and instead the person will only see your old previous location or probably no location found if your phone has been switched off or offline for a long time.
Aside from turning off the phone, there are other ways to prevent your location from being seen by those you are sharing location with and they are as follows;
- Turn off location sharing and location services.
- Turn off data and Wi-Fi (internet) on your device or enable airplane mode.
How to prevent your location from being seen by others
To prevent your location from being seen by others, you simply have to disable location sharing and location services on your phone or turn off cellular data or Wi-Fi on your device.
To turn off share my location on your iPhone, iPad, Mac or the Apple;
- Get started by opening the settings app on your device.
- Scroll down to privacy and open it.
- Open Location Services on the next page and right there you will see Share My Location as it is applicable on iPhone, iPad, Mac or the Apple watch.
- Open Share My Location and you will be on the page.
- Simply go ahead and turn off share my location just like on the picture below.
Once you have disables share my location on your iPhone, iPad, Mac or the Apple, be rest assured that your friends and family members you are sharing your location with, will never get notified about it and also being able to your current location afterwards.
But bear in mind that immediately you enabled location services and location sharing on your device along with having an active internet connection, your location will start working and they will be able to see your location once again.
2. Turn off location services
Get started by opening the settings app, scroll down to privacy and open it.
As the first option states Location Services, kindly open it. Now you will see that Location Services is enabled on your iPhone, go ahead and disable it just like on the picture below.
Once you have done this, no one will be able to see your location.
If phone dies does it stop sharing location?
The answer is yes. if phone dies it will automatically stop sharing location as location services, location sharing and internet will not be active or available.
Does whatsapp use your location?
WhatsApp will use your location only if you give the permission to access and use your location. Other than that, whatsapp doesn’t use someone location without permission.
Also bear in mind that you can share location with someone one whatsapp.
To share location on whatsapp, get started by opening whatsapp on your phone. Open the conversation you had with the person or locate the person contact on your whatsapp and open to start a chat.
All you have to do is to tap on the plus ➕ icon and you will see list of options including Location.
Kindly tap on location to move to the next step.
It will load your location and right there you will see the option that states Share Live Location and also Send Your Current Location.
Tap on any of the location and it will share your location straight to the contact on whatsapp.
Does iphone location show when phone is dead?
iPhone location will never show when the phone is dead, it will only show old last location of the person or probably show no location found.
iPhone location will only show when the phone is active with internet, location services and share my location is enabled and active on the phone. Other than that, location won’t be available.
What does life360 say when phone is dead?
Normally Life360 won’t display oa battery percentage when the phone is dead and also it show no location available when tracking someone whose phone is dead.
Lastly before I go, what does your location say when your phone dies? When your phone dies, it will say no location found when someone tries to check your location.