Will resetting my phone delete everything

Your mobile phone has started to misbehave and which you can no longer endure the issue, you’re being told that resetting your mobile phone will be the solution to your phone problem.

Then you’re here, trying to know if indeed will resetting my phone delete everything including all the files and data in the mobile phone.

I know that you’re a novice and once before I was just like you. So I will explain all that you need to know on resetting a mobile phone and if at all it will delete everything on your mobile phone.

What is phone resetting

A phone resetting or factory reset is the process of software restore of an electronic device or a mobile phone to its original system state by erasing all of the information stored on the device or the mobile phone.

When you’re factory resetting your mobile phone, you’re sending the phone back to it’s original state just like when you first unboxed your mobile phone.

It is not advisable to factory reset a mobile phone unless there’s an urgent need or dire need to reset a phone especially if the phone stars to lag, hang or other phone issues.

Now you seen the meaning of phone resetting or probably the meaning of a factory reset, let’s noe see the answer to the question of will a factory reset delete everything on my phone.

Will resetting my phone delete everything

Absolutely yes. A factory reset will delete everything on your phone except for system apps, files and settings.

All the customizations made on the phone, all the files and app downloaded from the internet or sent to your will be deleted from your mobile phone. This is why I said that your phone will return to it’s original state as to like when you first unboxed your phone.

All your pictures, apps downloaded, documents, songs, etc will be removed from your mobile phone except for the system apps and files. The system apps are applications pre-installed on your mobile phone.

For example, when you first unboxed your mobile phone, the apps and files you’re seeing are system apps cause you’re not the one that downloaded and installed the apps and files.

These system apps and files will remain intact on your mobile phone even if you factory reset your phone. But this shouldn’t make you to panic cause there’s a way to preserve your files before doing a factory reset on your mobile phone.

Factory reset is very much helpful in resolving some phone problems and there’s nothing to be afraid. I factory reset my phone if the case may be.

At this point, you have seen what you’re looking for, the answer to the question of will resetting my phone delete everything, and I say yes but in order to prevent you from losing data and files from your mobile phone, you must first do a backup before the factory reset.

Can I reset my phone without losing everything

Yes of course, you can reset your phone without losing everything but that will be backing up your data and files before doing the factory reset on your mobile phone.

If you’re using android or iphone, you should read how to backup your phone before performing a factory reset on your mobile phone. Let me use the likes of Samsung Galaxy phone for this.

If you want to backup your Samsung mobile phone, all you need to do is to open the settings app and scroll down to acounts and backup.

Tap on the accounts and backup to open followed by backup and restore. Tap back up data to proceed to the next step and on the next screen it will display all the files and data can be backed up to the Samsung cloud.

will resetting my phone delete everything

These includes the likes of calls, messages, contacts, calendar, clock, settings, homescreen, apps and voice recording.

If you’re satisfied with the options given to you, tap on backup. And that’s it, you have successfully backed up your files and data.

However, this isn’t the best way to backup a Samsung phone cause it has limits. The best way is to use a computer and a samsung switch, and you can backup the entire files and data on your Samsung phone.

What you need to do is to download the Samsung smart switch both on your computer and your mobile phone.

Connect your computer to your phone through a USB cable, and navigate to open the Smart Switch on your computer, and then click Backup. Remember to select all the entire backup options shown on your screen before clicking on backup.

Your computer will automatically start backing up your phone’s data, which may take several minutes. When it’s done, a screen will appear informing you it’s complete. Click OK.

In this aspect there’s no limit cause the files and data will be saved on your computer, so you can backup 250GB using this method. Remember, we’re still on this topic will resetting my phone delete everything.

DON’T MISS 

● Should i remove my sim card before factory reset

● How to prevent whatsapp call interrupted by phone call

● Does playing games damage a smartphone

● Can you use whatsapp to call someone without whatsappp

This is how to reset your phone without losing data, and if you’re scared of the question of will resetting my phone delete everything, you need to do this, backup your entire files and data before proceeding with the factory reset.

Does factory reset delete pictures?

Yes of course, when you factory reset your phone all the pictures stored or saved on the phone will be deleted or wiped out. This is why you need to backup your entire files and data or probably move your pictures to your SD card or any other external drive.

will a factory reset delete everything on my phone

If you don’t do this, be rest assured that you will lose all your entire pictures immediately you’re done factory resetting your mobile phone. So kindly move them to the SD card, OTG USB storage, your computer or any other external storage device or even the icloud or google drive.

What does a factory reset do on Android and iPhone

A factory reset will remove all the customized and downloaded files and data from an android phone or iPhone, and will return the phone back to it’s original state. Both the iPhone and the android phone will look exactly like when it first unboxed.

All contents except the system apps and files will be removed from the phone including pictures, songs, videos if they were saved in the phone internal storage.

This is what factory rest do on android and iPhone, and it helps to resolve a phone issues like hanging, lagging, freezing, etc.will resetting my phone delete everything.

Does factory reset damage phone?

Absolutely no. Performing a factory reset on a mobile phone do not damage the phone but instead it helps to solve problems on the phones.

I have heard about phone bricking after performing a factory reset especially those that rooted their android phone or jailbreak their iPhone.

Honestly, I don’t root or jailbreak my phone and I can’t say for sure if truly rooting or jailbreaking your phone will brick the phone if you perform a factory reset on the phone. But I will advise you to stay clear if you have rooted your android phone or jailbreak your iPhone.

Now I you have seen the answer to will will a factory reset delete everything on my phone, let’s take one more question before I round up this very post.

Does rebooting your phone delete everything?

The answer is no. Rebooting a phone does not delete everything or even anything from the mobile phone, both the files and the data remain intact and untouched.

Rebooting a phone is very much different from factory resetting a phone. To reboot a phone a phone helps to resolve some sudden phone issues like not being able to see a network coverage on your phone, or your apps crashing.

This is different with resetting your phone. Like I said, resetting a phone will return the phone back to it’s original state while rebooting a phone will still retain the phone customizations, files and data including pictures saved on the phone.

This is where I draw the line on this topic will resetting my phone delete everything. Once more don’t forget to backup your phone before performing a factory reset on your mobile phone.

Leave a Comment