Skip to Content

If someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username? Explained

Last Updated on July 5, 2022 by Kennedy

If someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username or probably not in the case that I have been blocked by the other whatsapp user.

When someone is blocked on whatsapp, there are limitations which the person will see and the first and foremost is that the blocked person will no longer see the other person’s profile picture until the person unblock him or her on it’s whatsapp account.

Aside from profile picture, there are other limitations which I have already explained in this article.

However, we’ll be looking at the question of the day.

And which is;

If someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username?

The simple answer is yes. You will still be able to see the person’s whatsapp username as there is no restriction to that.

Talking about whatsapp username, you can only see someone’s whatsapp username if you don’t have the phone number saved in your mobile phone or sim card. Then if you happen to have the person’s phone number saved in your phone, you cannot see the person’s whatsapp username but rather the name you used in saving the number in your mobile phone.

Talking about if someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username, as long as you have the person’s contact information or number on your mobile phone, you will definitely see the name you used to save the contact on your cellphone.

Also if you don’t have the person’s contact saved in your mobile phone and which will display the person’s whatsapp username, even if the person blocked you on whatsapp you will still be able to see the person’s whatsapp username.

When blocked on whatsapp there are some limitations especially not being able to send messages to the other person. Having answered the question of the day and which is if someone blocked me on Whatsapp can i see their username, let me explain the limitations you will experience when being blocked by someone on whatsapp.

Limit of being blocked on whatsapp

if someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username

The followings are what you will be limited if someone happens to block you on WhatsApp;

  • Text messages will be blocked. 
  • Voice and video calls will be restricted. 
  • You won’t be able to see the other person’s whatsapp profile picture. 
  • The person’s whatsapp status will be restricted to you.
  • Last seen will also be restricted to you.

Text Messages Will Be Blocked: It is known that once you are blocked by someone on whatsapp, you will not be able to send text messages to the person. Also the person won’t be able to send text messages to you until he or she unblocked your whatsapp number on it’s whatsapp account.

Voice and video calls will be restricted: This is the major restriction one will notice, both video call and audio calls will be restricted on both the blocked person and the person that blocked the other whatsapp contact.

One feature I like about whatsapp is the fact that if someone blocked you on whatsapp, you won’t be able to send text messages, video calls and audio calls to the person. Also the person won’t be able to send text messages, video calls and audio calls to you until he or she unblock you on it’s whatsapp account.

You won’t be able to see the other person’s whatsapp profile picture: This is the very first indication that you have been blocked by the other person on whatsapp though in most times you may think that the person removed it’s whatsapp profile picture.

Once you have been blocked by the other person on whatsapp, the person’s profile picture will be invisible to you and all that you will see is a blank generic image. Meanwhile, the other person will still be able to see your whatsapp profile picture.

If you have a contact in your whatsapp which you are sure the person usually has a whatsapp profile picture and suddenly you are not seeing any profile picture, you may have been blocked by the person. Sending text messages or call will confirm it if they didn’t get through to the person.

Last seen will also be restricted to you: Immediately someone blocked you on whatsapp, you won’t be able to see the person’s last seen especially if the person didn’t deactivate or disable the feature on it’s whatsapp account.

Many a time not being able to see someone’s last seen doesn’t necessarily mean you have been blocked by the person but instead the person disabled the feature on it’s whatsapp account. It’s not everyone that always like their last seen to be seen by their whatsapp contacts.

If you are not able to see someone’s last seen, whatsapp status, and the person’s profile picture is no longer available, then it may mean you have been blocked by the person.

These are the restrictions you will encounter if you have been blocked by someone on whatsapp and also answers the question of the day, on if someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username.

How do you find out if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp? 

To find out if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, check if the person’s profile picture is shown to you and if it is blank, then it may be an indication that you have been blocked by the person. 

However, you need to confirm it by first checking to see if you will see the person’s last seen. Once again, if it is not available to you then kindly send a text message to the person on whatsapp. If the text message isn’t showing two marks after several hours then it is a strong indication that you have been blocked by the person on whatsapp.

if someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username

If someone blocked me on WhatsApp can I see their profile picture?

The simple answer is no. If you have been blocked on whatsapp by the other whatsapp contact, you won’t be able to see the person’s whatsapp profile as it will be blank.

It will look as if the person has no whatsapp profile picture whereas in the real sense you have been blocked by the person.

I was blocked by someone on WhatsApp but I can still see her online status how is that possible?

This simply means that the person has unblocked you on it’s whatsapp account.

Once you have been blocked by a contact on whatsapp, there’s no way you will see the person’s last seen or online status unless you weren’t blocked by the person in the first place.

For the fact that you sent a text message to a person on whatsapp which didn’t go through doesn’t necessarily mean that the person has blocked you. It may be due to the fact that the person has been in offline mode for a while as whatsapp requires internet connection to work.

It truly you were blocked by the person on whatsapp and suddenly you were able to see the person’s whatsapp online status, then it simply means that the person has unblocked you on it’s whatsapp account.

Can I call someone who blocked me on WhatsApp?

The answer is no. You can’t call someone who blocked you on whatsapp as the call won’t go through to the recipient whatsapp account or phone.

A typical example is that the call will only show calling but will never show ringing which simply means the recipient phone is not ringing as the call didn’t get through to the recipient phone.

So if you have been blocked by someone on whatsapp, don’t bother calling the person as it will be a complete waste of time unless you use another phone number or probably whatsapp account or whatsapp number to contact the person.

Can someone block you on whatsapp without you knowing?

The answer is no. You will definitely know if someone blocked you on whatsapp especially if the person’s profile picture is no seen, online status is not available, and text messages and calls are not going through.

For me, it i happen to find out that a friend’s whatsapp profile picture is no longer seen in my account, it will look very suspicious to me. I will try to check the person’s whatsapp status and last seen and if they are not available to me, my suspicious will grow further.

Lastly I will send a text message or make a call to the person.

If they didn’t get through to the person after several days, then I will know that I have been blocked by the person. To fully confirm it, I will use another whatsapp account to send a text message or call the person on whatsapp.

If it does go through then I will know that truly I have been blocked by the person but I will do this only if I care about the person.

How to know if someone blocked you on whatsapp 

To know if someone blocked you on whatsapp, check if you can see the person’s profile picture, online status or last seen. If you can’t then it may mean that you have been blocked by the person especially if sent text messages and calls are not getting delivered to the person.

Lastly before I go, if someone blocked me on whatsapp can i see their username? The simple answer is yes. You will still be able to see the person’s whatsapp username as there is no restriction to that.