Skip to Content

What does clear history and website data do on iphone & iPad?

Last Updated on January 25, 2022 by Kennedy

There’s no doubt that one of the ways to offload too much work on a browser is to clear up some datas and files, but it depends on the situation of things.

Now what of clear history and website data on iphone and iPad, is it necessary to clear up saved data in the safari browser.

If you are new to iphone or iPad you will be wondering what the term means and what it is trying to notify you about.

So I will explain all of that to you in this article as it is very essential especially when your safari browser starts to misbehave.

What does clear history and website data do on iphone and iPad?

Clear history and website data wipes out the entire informations, logins and password, settings saved in the safari browser as it will automatically reset the safari browser. 

Your safari browser will look like the very first time you opened it on your iPhone or iPad.

This is like when you factory reset your iPhone, it will remove everything you saved and stored on your iPhone and your iPhone will look like it was when you unboxed it.

When you tap the on clear history and website data button, it will practically wipe out the entire history, bookmarks, settings made on the safari browser. So when you ask what does clear history and website data do on iphone and iPad, kindly note that it automatically reset the safari browser back to it’s original state.

So before you go ahead and tap on the button, you will have to make sure that you won’t lose important bookmarks on the safari browser.

You can do that by transferring or probably sharing your bookmarks with another browser on your iPhone or iPad, that is if you care about your bookmarks.

How to clear history and website data on iPhone and iPad

To clear clear history and website data on the safari browser, kindly open the settings app, scroll down to safari and tap to open.

In the safari settings, scroll down and you will see clear history and website data button. Go ahead and tap on the button and by doing so you have wiped out the entire saved data and information on your safari browser.

What does clear history and website data do

All in all, you have reset your safari browser back to its default settings.

But the question is;

Should you be clearing history and website data from your safari browser?

Reasons to clear history and website data on safari browser

Below are the reasons to clear data from your safari browser.

1. If the safari browser crashes a lot

When a mobile app begins to crash unnecessarily, the first and foremost thing to do is clear cache and if nothing happens then what follows next will be to clear data.

And by doing so you have done a reset on the mobile app and normally it helps fix the problem.

So if your safari browser refuses to open and crash a lot, then it times to clear history and website data from the browser app.

2. Excessive hanging and lagging

Many a time this isn’t causes because of low ram or internal storage, but because the app has lot’s stored data which is too heavy for the app to function very well especially if there’s no enough ram to support the app.

It will start to hang or lag, takes quite a while to open.

This indicates that you have to clear up the app in order to make it faster again. So if clearing cache doesn’t work, the only solution is to clear the data from the mobile app.

This is where clear history and website data plays an important role in any given iphone or iPad.

3. To clear up internal storage

When an app data is so much, it can take a huge space in the phone storage thereby reducing the number of spaces left in the internal storage.

If you noticed that your safari browser cached files and data are up to 2GB or at least 700mb in size, you should try and clear history and website data when you have noticed that your device internal storage has gone too low.

What happens if I clear history and website data in Safari?

When you clear history and website data in Safari browser, you are resetting the browser back to it’s original state as all browsing history, bookmarks, cached files, cookies will be wiped out from the browser.

If you don’t have a valid reason or the need to clear data from the safari browser, you better not do so unless you don’t have much settings and saved files on the browser.

Is it good to clear history and website data on iPhone?

It is not bad to clear history and website data on iPhone cause there are situations that will warrant someone clearing data on it’s iphone, and that is when the app starts to crash, hang or lag.

Irrespective of the fact that clearing history and website data on iPhone or iPad will wipe out the entire informations stored in the browser app, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that.

Will clearing history and website data delete passwords?

Clearing history and website data will definitely delete passwords saved in the safari browser along with other informations and logins. Once you tap on the clear button, you have practically lost all your passwords saved in the browser app and will have to sign in.

For example, you logged into your reddit account using the Safari browser and afterwards cleared history and website data from the browser.

If you open the safari browser you will see that all the websites you visited including reddit.com will no longer be there and if you happen to open the reddit website you will need to enter your username and password.

How often should you clear history on iPhone?

There’s no need to clear history on your iPhone unless you wouldn’t want a third party see all you have done on your web browser. However, when the web browser gets too slow or start crashing, then you should clear off history and website data from the browser app.

More Related Questions

Does clearing history delete cookies?

No, clearing history won’t delete cookies from an app but instead when you clear data or cached files then it will delete cookies from an app.

Does clear history and website data delete bookmarks?

The answer is yes. Clearing history and website data will definitely delete bookmarks saved in the safari browser and this is why you shouldn’t be doing that as you will lose all your bookmarks and saved offline sites.