How to freeze location on find my iphone & friends

Last Updated on September 13, 2022 by Kennedy

Sharing location on iPhone is one of the best features I love about using the iPhone, however, it is not always that one would like his location to be seen by those he is sharing location with on his iPhone, and the question being asked is;

How to freeze location on find my iPhone?

To freeze location on your iPhone, you simply have to disable location services on your iPhone and it will automatically free your location.

On iPhone and Android phones, as long as location services are not enabled on the phone, no one will be able to see your location. If they tried to see your location on find my app, it won’t show your current location.

Right in the post, we will be looking at the various ways in which you can freeze location on iPhone or on any apple device that has location sharing like the iPad and the apple watch.

How to freeze your location on iPhone

To freeze location on your iPhone, you simply have to turn off location services and share my location on your iPhone. Once you have done that, those you’re sharing your location with on your iPhone wont be able to see your location.

Now the question being asked is how do you turn off location services and share my location on your iPhone?

Let’s proceed to that.

1.1. Freeze location on iPhone by turning off location services

To get started, open the setting app on your iPhone, scroll down to privacy and open it.

how to freeze your location on iphone

Right on the next screen, you will see Location Services which will be the first option you will see on your screen.

Tap to open location services and you will be presented with the option to turn on or turn off location services on your iPhone as shown in the picture below.

how to freeze your location on iphone

As you can see in the above picture, location services is enabled or turned on, go ahead and turn it off.

Once you turn it off, the person you’re sharing your location with on your iPhone wont be able to see your location. If the persons try to check our location, what the person will see will be Not Sharing Location or No Location Found.


Related Posts:


1.2. Freeze location on iPhone by turning off share my location

Another method of freezing location on an iPhone is by turning off the share my location on your iPhone. Once share my location is turned off on your iPhone, those you’re sharing your location with on your iPhone wont be able to see your location anymore.

To get started, open the settings app, scroll down to Privacy and open it.

Next, you will see location services, tap on it to open and you will see Share My Location as shown below.

Share my location

Kindly tap on my Share My Location and on the next screen, you will the option to turn off share my location on your iPhone. If it is turned on then you have to turn it off in order to freeze your location on your iPhone or any other Apple devices like the iPad or the apple watch.

Talking about how to freeze your location on iPhone, you have to turn off location services and share my location on your iPhone and you’re good to go.


Related Posts:


1.3. Freeze location on iPhone by using the airplane mode

Using the airplane is another method to freeze location on iPhone but it means that you won’t use wifi while in airplane mode.

Remember that location services and share my location require internet to work and be it wifi or cellular data, so even if your iPhone is in airplane mode but you have active wifi on your iPhone, airplane mode won’t freeze your location on your iPhone.

So if you’re to use airplane mode to freeze your location on your iPhone, then it simply means that you won’t use wifi while on airplane mode.

To get started, pull the control center on your iPhone and you will see the airplane mode icon as shown below.

Airplane mode

Kindly tap on the airplane mode icon and immediately it will disable all the radio services on your iPhone like wifi, Bluetooth, cellular data, and cellular service.

Using airplane mode on your iPhone without wifi means that you won’t be able to receive text messages like iMessage, SMS text messages, facetime calls, cellular calls, etc. Because of no cellular data and wifi on your iPhone, your location services won’t get updated.

This means that no one will be able to see your location.

How to freeze location on find my iPhone

To freeze location on find my iPhone you have to turn off find my iPhone and it will automatically freeze the feature on your iPhone.

To freeze find my iPhone, open the setting app on your iPhone, and tap on privacy to open it.

On the next screen, tap on share my location and right there you will see the Find My iPhone option as shown below.

how to freeze location on find my iphone

Tap on Find My iPhone and you will see that the feature is enabled on your iPhone. Now go ahead and turn off Find My iPhone and you will be required to enter your Apple ID and password. Finally, tap on the turn-off option and it will freeze find my iPhone on your phone.

Remember that this is also applicable to find my friends on your iPhone and if you’re looking for how to freeze location on find my friends.

Will they know if I freeze location on iPhone?

The answer is yes. Once you freeze your location on your iPhone they will know once they couldn’t see your location but instead see not sharing location or no location found.

On your iPhone, if you turn off location services and share my location or probably freeze your location on your iPhone, it will show Not Sharing Location or No Location Found on the other person’s iPhone. Sometimes it will show location services is off though only if you have ios 14 and below.

If you have ios 15 and above, it will show not sharing location or no location found on find my app, and no location available on iMessage location.

how to freeze location on find my iphone

However, the other person may not necessarily understand what not sharing location, no location found and location not available mean on iPhone, the person won’t be able to know that you froze your location on your iPhone

How do you pause your location on Find My iPhone without them knowing?

To pause your location on find my iPhone, you simply have to turn off the internet on your iPhone and that will prevent find my iPhone from getting updated on your iPhone.

I wouldn’t ask you to turn off find my iPhone though you can still do that on your iPhone. But the truth is that without active internet on your iPhone, find my iPhone won’t get updated to your current location.

So the best answer to the question of how do you pause your location on Find My iPhone without them knowing is by turning off the internet completely on your iPhone. Turning off location services and location sharing on your iPhone will be good also, but remember to enable them afterward on your iPhone.

How to fake location on Find My iPhone

Currently, there’s no possible method to fake location on find my iPhone except if you turn off location services on your iPhone.

If you’re not comfortable with the other person knowing your current location, kindly turn off location services or turn off the internet on your iPhone and it will prevent your location from getting updated on find my app.

All these are how to freeze your location on your iPhone, find my iPhone, and find my friends.

Also remember that once you turn off location services and share my location is turned off on iPhone, it will also affect location sharing on iMessage as it won’t be available but rather shows location not available.

And with this, I come to the conclusion on the question of the day, how to freeze location on find my iphone, find my friends and find my iPhone. 

Leave a Comment