Can you see if someone checks your location on iphone or probably on Find My app, this is one of the common questions asked when it comes to sharing location among family members and close friends.
Sharing location with someone but very curious to know if someone is checking your location especially when you don’t want the person to see your current location.
One of the disadvantages of location sharing is that the people you’re sharing location with, will likely know your movement or get to see your current location.
Once you have made up your mind to share your location with any of your family members or close friends, you shouldn’t be bothered if someone is checking on your location.
Bear in mind that they do.
So in this question of the day, can you see if someone checks your location on iphone, this is one of the common questions asked especially if you need a bit of privacy.
Maybe you try to know if this your very close family member is checking your current location or maybe out of curiosity.
So let’s jump into the answer.
Can you see if someone checks your location on iphone?
The answer is no. You cannot see if someone check your location on iphone or find my app.
Apple didn’t create a feature that will notify or display list of those that checked your location for the day.
It is quite frustrating.
But I’m sorry there’s no possible way to know if your mum is dad or spouse checked your current location.
However, you can only assume that they checked your location since you’re sharing location with your close friends or family members.
For some users, out of curiosity they would like to know the number of persons that viewed their location for the day on their iPhone, but I’m sorry to disappoint you because such is not available.
So asking can you see when someone checks your location on iphone, find my app, etc? The answer is no. You cannot check it because there’s no available option to check those who viewed your location.
You don’t want your location to be seen? Here’s what to do
So you find yourself in a situation whereby you don’t want your current location to be seen by those you’re sharing location with, I have two main solutions for you.
- Turn off location services.
- Turn off share my location.
As you can see, I didn’t mention turning off your phone or putting your phone on airplane mode or flight mode, no.
I simply state that you should turn off Location Services and Share My Location on your iPhone, and you’re good to go.
Let me explain to you what will happen if you turn off or disable this two features.
1. It will prevent your current location from being updated
Now listen, when you talk about sharing location on your iPhone, location services and share my location must be enabled and active.
If this two features are disabled on your iPhone or any other apple device, location sharing will be useless.
Useless being that Find My App and iMessage Location Map will not function.
For Find My App to function, the phone must have an active location services functioning.
This also includes Share My Location but location services is 100% compulsory.
So if you’re not really comfortable with a particular contact or person from seeing your current but you don’t want to stop sharing location with the person, simply turn off location services or share my location on your iPhone.
2. Your location will display No Location Found
As long as you have location services and share my location turned off or disabled on your iPhone, if someone try to check your location it will display No Location Found on the person’s screen.
No matter how hard the person try to check your location, it will continue to display No Location Found on both Find My app, and iMessage Location Map.
Now let me show you how you can turn off these features on your iPhone and it is also applied on iPad.
Get Started by opening the Settings App on your iPhone.
Scroll down to Privacy & Security, tap to open the option.
As you open Privacy & Security, you will Location Services on the next screen.
As you tap on Location services as shown in the above picture, you will see that it is enabled on your iPhone.
So you go ahead and turn it off as shown in the below image.
Look below and you will see Share My Location as shown in the above image, tap on the option and turn it off as well.
Once you have turned off thus two options on your iPhone, you’re good to go.
But the disadvantage here is that once you location services turned off on your iPhone, you won’t be able to see others current location as well.
Please bear that in mind.
Can you tell when someone checks your location Find My Friends?
No, you can’t tell when someone checks your location on find my friends because such option is not available.
There’s no option to see who viewed your location on iPhone or find my app.
And this means that asking how to check if someone checked your location is not possible because there’s no way to check if someone checked your location.
Maybe later in the future apple will add the option or feature to check who viewed your location for the day.
But for now, the option is not available.
And this is where I wrap it up in today’s question of the day, can you see when someone checks your location. As the option is not available, bear in mind that the person you’re sharing your location with, will definitely try to see your current location especially family member (spouse) or a close friend.
If you’re not comfortable with your location being seen always, simply turn off location services and share my location, and you’re good to go.